About Photonic Knowledge

Photonic Knowledge services the mining and petroleum industries from early exploration through to production.  With the innovation of the Core Mapper™ , Photonic has made it possible to economically analyze drill core with unprecedented speed and precision.  Realize your core values!
About the Lac à Paul property
The Lac à Paul property contains an Anorthositic suite of the Lake-Saint-Jean Group which itself lies within the Grenville geological province. The regional metamorphism is generally high-grade and is at the higher end of the amphibolite facies and into the granulite facies. The rocks present on the property of the Lac à Paul  belong to a mafic to ultramafic sequence made up of anorthosite, leuconorite, norite, gabbronorite, gabbro (with olivine), pyroxenite, and locally, nelsonite, peridotite, dunite and magnetite. Thus, the phosphate deposits of the Lac à Paul are of igneous origin. 

This novel technique offers the same objectivity for each meter of drill core. The results of the analyses are subsequently linearized to show the various sequences along the length of the hole. The image below shows the results from hole 08-01. It also shows a comparison of the results of the Core Mapper™ against the assay data.

In the final stage of analysis, the data collected by the Core Mapper™ is seamlessly integrated into a 3D imaging software which clearly displays the distribution of the various mineral species of the deposit. This visualization makes it possible to interpret, in a very precise manner, the various zones of mineralisation, which in turn, permits strategic drill hole target selection using real time information.

Ressources d'Arianne Strater
Ressources d’Arianne is currently developing a phosphate and titanium project in the region north of the Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean and will release the prefeasibility study shortly. At this stage, a solid understanding of geology and formation processes of the deposits is critical in order to optimize the mineral extraction process.  It is here that Photonic Knowledge’s Core Mapper™ has made a significant contribution. Because the Core Mapper™ can deliver results depicting the drill core’s chemistry and the physics simultaneously, it has set the stage for a geological and economic breakthrough.

The chemical analysis carried out in the laboratory revealed that the igneous rocks from Lac à Paul presented a very high concentration in P2O5.  Indeed, in the literature the igneous rocks enriched in P2O5 are primarily carbonatites or nelsonites.  In the case of the deposits from Lac à Paul we deal with nelsonites which should contain to the maximum, 13% P2O5. However, certain analyses of the rocks from Paul Zone revealed grades reaching 21.3% P2O5. These results far exceeded the normal expected readings and raised people’s interest in the project.  An understanding of the processes at the base of this re-enrichment of phosphorus can make it possible to better interpret the structure for this type of deposit and to develop corresponding exploration tools.
Ressources d'Arianne apatite

The results speak for themselves! Nadège Tollari, Ph.D., Vice-President Research and Development at Ressources d’Arianne remarked. Core Mapper™ system was used to confirm the occurrence of two phases of the crystallization of apatite (the mineral containing phosphorus). This is the likely explanation for the abnormally high presence of phosphorus detected in the rocks from Lac à Paul as determined following the analysis of these samples.

“The tests carried out in laboratory treat a significant amount of data, but do not provide us enough explanation.” states Ms. Tollari. “We can clearly see in the image provided by the Core Mapper™ , that there are three types of apatite. We are also able to observe the result of these two phases of crystallization, which explains the high grade of phosphorus. The Core Mapper™ has proven the existence of these three types of apatite over 4,500 meters of core analysis. These results were available in less than one month and were less expensive, approximately 1/10th the cost of the traditional methods.”  The Core Mapper™ provides an unequalled level of analysis; it captures six boxes of drill core at a time with a resolution 900 times more precise, and a field of view 1666 times larger than any spectrometer, and in addition, the whole acquisition cycle requires less than 15 minutes! “The quality and the volume of data provided would, quite simply, not have been economically possible within a reasonable time frame using traditional tools” added Ms. Tollari.
Ressources Arianne
Image above showing precision and correlation from Assays (black line) to hyperspectral results (apatite in red).
© 2011 PHOTONIC KNOWLEDGE. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

À propos de Photonic Knowledge

Photonic Knowledge soutient les entreprises minières et pétrolières aux étapes d’exploration et d’exploitation, en développant des outils d’analyse novateurs. Le Core Mapper™ , permet d’analyser de façon rapide et extrêmement précise les carottes de forage.
 À propos du Lac à Paul
La propriété du Lac à Paul se situe dans la Suite Anorthositique du Lac-Saint-Jean qui appartient à la province géologique du Grenville. Le métamorphisme régional est généralement élevé et se situe au faciès supérieur des amphibolites jusqu’à celui des granulites. Les roches présentes sur la propriété du Lac à Paul font partie d’une séquence mafique à ultramafique composée d’anorthosite, de leuconorite, de norite, de gabbronorite, de gabbro à olivine, de pyroxénite et localement de nelsonite, péridotite, de dunite et de magnétitite. Les dépôts de phosphate du Lac à Paul sont donc d'origine ignée.

Cette technique d’analyse novatrice permet une appréciation objective des carottes de forage. Les résultats sont par la suite linéarisés pour montrer les différentes séquences le long d’un trou, tel qu’illustré ci-dessus avec les résultats du trou 08-01 comparant  des résultats des assays versus les résultats du Core Mapper™ .

Enfin, les données fournies par le Core Mapper™ sont intégrées en quelques minutes pour visualiser en 3D la distribution des différentes espèces minérales du gisement. Cette visualisation permet de connaitre de manière très précise les différentes zones de la minéralisation.

Ressources d'Arianne Strater
Ressources  d’Arianne développe actuellement un projet de phosphore et titane au nord du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean. L’entreprise devrait bientôt rendre publique l’étude de préfaisabilité. À ce stade, une bonne compréhension de la géologie et des processus de formation des dépôts est nécessaire afin d’optimiser l’exploitation des ressources. C’est dans ce contexte que le Core Mapper™   de Photonic Knowledge a été mis à contribution. Le fait que les résultats montrent à la fois la chimie et la physique des carottes de forage observées a permis une grande percée géologique et économique.

Les analyses chimiques effectuées en laboratoire ont  révélé que les roches ignées du Lac à Paul présentent une concentration très élevée en P2O5. En effet, dans la littérature les roches ignées enrichies en P2O5 sont essentiellement des carbonatites ou des nelsonites. Dans le cas des dépôts du Lac à Paul nous avons affaire à des nelsonites qui devraient contenir au maximum 13% P2O5. Cependant certaines analyses des roches de la Zone Paul ont retourné des teneurs allant jusqu’à 21.3% P2O5. Ces résultats dépassent de loin les teneurs normalement attendues et suscitent un très fort intérêt. Une compréhension des processus à la base de ce ré-enrichissement peut permettre de mieux comprendre la formation des dépôts de ce type et de développer des outils pour l’exploration.
Ressources d'Arianne apatite

Les résultats parlent d’eux-mêmes!  Nadège Tollari, Ph.D, vice-présidente, recherche et développement, chezRessources d’Arianne a utilisé le Core Mapper™ pour confirmer l’occurrence de deux phases de cristallisation de l’apatite (minéral contenant le phosphore dans leurs roches) susceptibles d’expliquer la présence anormale d’un haut pourcentage de phosphore détecté dans les roches du Lac à Paul.  

« Les analyses effectuées en laboratoire traitent une quantité importante de données mais ne nous fournissent pas assez d’explication » affirme Mme Tollari.  « Avec le Core Mapper™ , nous pouvons clairement voir qu’il existe trois types d’apatite et nous sommes également en mesure d’observer le résultat de ces deux phases de cristallisation qui expliquent le taux élevé de phosphore. Le Core Mapper™ a prouvé l’existence de ces trois types d’apatite sur 4500 mètres d’analyse. Ces résultats étaient disponibles en moins d’un mois et ont coûté 10 fois moins cher qu’avec les méthodes traditionnelles.» Le Core Mapper™ permet une puissance d’analyse inégalée. Il analyse six boites de forage avec une résolution 900 fois plus précise dans un champ de vision  1666 fois plus grand que n’importe quel spectromètre, le tout en moins de 15 minutes. « La qualité et la quantité d’analyse géologique n’auraient tout simplement pas été possible de manière économique dans un délai raisonnable avec les outils traditionnels », ajoute Mme Tollari.
Ressources Arianne
L’Image ci-dessus montre la précision de la corrélation entre les résultats obtenus des assays versus le taux d’apatite en fonction de la roche analysée.
© 2011 TOUS DROITS RÉSERVÉS. PHOTONIC KNOWLEDGE.