This enables us to identify transition metals as well as rare ground and the ligands associated with them.

A)    Technological bases of hyperspectral imaging  
The human eye sees three colours in the visible spectrum: red, green and blue. Cameras available on the market allow us to see our environment on a photograph with a precision similar to the eye. Our technology is much more powerful. Instead of analyzing only three bands or wavelengths in the visible spectrum (400nm to 700nm), the Core Mapper™ captures one image every 2 nanometres for the visible and near infrared (400nm to 1000nm) spectra.  

These 300 monochromatic images are compiled in a hyperspectral cube. Using a hyperspectral cube, we produce a matrix. In X and Y, we have the spatial information of our acquisition target, and in Z, we produce the spectrum of each pixel. Thanks to this patented technique, we obtain 1.5 million spectra per acquisition.  Since the acquisition area is 1m x 1.5m, each pixel represents 1mm2 of core surface.

The results of the hyperspectral analyses can be uploaded into most software used to create drill logs and drill hole analyses, such as Geotic, Gemcom, Geosoft Target, Gocad or Datamine. The transfer of information into the client’s databases can be set up using the following measurement criteria: a core box, a metre or even as little as a millimetre of core!  

This tool allows for a more precise and more rapid analysis of the required minerals. It not only identifies the assemblages present and estimates their quantity, but it also allows the user to visualise their distribution on the core. Furthermore, if a customer wishes to conduct a new query – for example on the assemblages indicating rare earth mineralisation instead of gold – all we need to do is integrate this new criteria into our database. By doing so, mining companies will have access to a geological databank of deposit analyses.

B)    Underlying Physics

Geologists are used to physicochemical analysis techniques such as the dispersion of X rays (EDX, microprobe) or X-ray fluorescence (XRF). These techniques measure the X-ray fluorescence emitted by electrons close to the core of atoms, which have been excited by high-energy beams (electrons, X-rays). They make it possible to analyze the atomic composition of materials from a surface of just a few microns, since it is difficult to produce the electron beams and X rays required for this type of analysis on large surfaces.
HYPERSPECTRAL IMAGING
Our technology lies at another level, i.e. the last layer of electrons. When an element binds to a ligand, the electrons go through transition metals to the ligands, creating an energy imbalance and a change in the direction of the electron curve. These changes are balanced out by the absorption of photons and it is this photon absorption, which is measured by the Core Mapper™.

© 2011 PHOTONIC KNOWLEDGE. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Ceci nous permet donc d’identifier les métaux de transition et les terres rares ainsi que les ligands qui y sont associés.

A)     Fondements technologiques de l’imagerie hyperspectrale  
L’imagerie hyperspectrale permet d’analyser des données sur des dimensions spatiales et spectrales.   Au lieu d’analyser seulement trois  longueurs d’onde, dans la plage spectrale visible (400nm à 700nm), le Core Mapper™   prend une image à chaque 2 nanomètres pour la plage spectrale visible et proche infrarouge (400nm à 1000nm). Ces 300 images monochromatiques sont compilées dans un cube hyperspectral.  

À l’aide du cube hyperspectral, nous produisons une matrice en X et Y, nous avons l’information spatiale de notre cible d’acquisition et en Z, nous produisons le spectre de chaque pixel. Grâce à cette technique brevetée, nous obtenons 1.5 millions de spectre par acquisition. Puisque la scène analysée est de 1m x 1.5m, chaque pixel représente donc 1mm2 de surface.

Nos algorithmes de reconnaissance prennent alors le relais et identifient un élément minéral pour chaque spectre.

Les résultats d’analyses hyperspectrales peuvent être transférés dans la majorité des logiciels utilisés pour bâtir des journaux de forage et des analyses de campagnes, comme Geotic, Gemcom, Starter, Geosoft Target, Gocad, MapInfo/Discover ou Datamine.

Le transfert d’information vers les bases de données du client peut être effectué à un niveau de précision d’une boite de carotte, d’un mètre ou même aussi petit qu’un millimètre ! Le Core Mapper™ permet une analyse plus précise et plus rapide des minéraux recherchés. Il permet non seulement d’identifier les assemblages présents, d’estimer leur quantité, mais en plus il permet d’en visualiser la distribution sur les carottes de forage.

Et si un client désire faire une nouvelle recherche, par exemple sur les assemblages indicateurs de minéralisation de terres rares au lieu de l’or, nous n’avons qu’à intégrer une nouvelle requête dans notre base de données. Ceci permet aux sociétés minières de se constituer une mémoire géologique des gisements analysés.

B)     La physique sous-jacente

Les géologues sont habitués aux techniques d’analyses physico-chimiques  telles que la dispersion des rayons X (EDX, microsonde) ou la fluorescence X (XRF).  Ces techniques mesurent la fluorescence X émise par les électrons proches du noyau des atomes suite à une excitation par des faisceaux de très haute énergie (électrons, rayons-X). Ces analyses permettent d’analyser la composition atomique des matériaux sur une surface de quelques microns, puisqu’il est difficile de produire des faisceaux d’électrons et de rayons-X requis pour ce type d’analyses sur de grandes surfaces d’analyses.
L'IMAGERIE HYPERSPECTRALE
Notre technologie se passe à un autre niveau, soit celui de la dernière couche d’électrons. Lorsqu’un élément se lie avec un ligand, les électrons passent des métaux de transitions aux ligands, créant ainsi un débalancement énergétique et un changement d’orientation de la courbe des électrons. Ces changements sont équilibrés par l’absorption de photons. C’est cette absorption de photons qui est mesurée par le Core Mapper™ .

© 2011 TOUS DROITS RÉSERVÉS. PHOTONIC KNOWLEDGE.